UW-Oshkosh’s historic hoops season nets major awards


The 2019 season saw both men’s and women’s teams claim conference championships

Combining for an overall record of 53-7 and with the men’s team still alive in the NCAA DIII tourney, the UW-Oshkosh Men’s and Women’s basketball teams have produced one of the strongest basketball program showings in all of college hoops this season.

The success and dedication of the players and coaches has resulted in an impressive list of awards and honors. Here’s just a few:

NCAA All-American First Team: Ben Boots.
Boots, who was named a finalist for the Jostens Trophy that is awarded each year to the best Division III men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes, is leading UW-Oshkosh this season with 15.7 points and 4.1 assists per game, 123 total assists, 81 made 3-pointers, a .877 free throw percentage and a 1.95 assist-to-turnover ratio. He paces the WIAC in total assists, assists per game and assist-to-turnover ratio while ranking second in the league in made 3-pointers and free throw percentage, fourth in scoring and ninth in 3-point percentage (.386). (pictured above)

Boots was also named regional player of the year by the NABC, received the WIAC conference player of the year award, and was a first team all-conference selection. He is one of eight finalists for national player of the year.

WIAC Conference Women’s Coach of the Year: Brad Fischer.
Fischer was tabbed the Coach of the Year for the third time in his career (2013, 2017) after leading the Titans to their 13th regular-season conference title and fifth tournament championship. UW-Oshkosh also earned a berth into the NCAA Division III Championship for the fifth time in the last six seasons.

Fischer has also been selected as the NCAA Division III Central Region Coach of the Year by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA)

National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Central Region Men’s Coach of the Year: Matt Lewis.
Lewis, who has guided fourth-ranked UW-Oshkosh to a 27-3 record and the program’s first outright Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference regular season title since 1978 during his initial season at the helm, is the first Titan to garner NABC regional Coach of the Year honors.

Isabella Samuels

WIAC All Conference Team: Isabella Samuels.
Samuels helped lead UW-Oshkosh to a 26-4 record this season by averaging a team-leading 9.8 points per game and producing a .691 field goal percentage, which ranks second in Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) history.

Samuels was also named a NCAA DIII All-Central Region Third Team by D3hoops.com.

WIAC Basketball Scholar-Athlete Award: Chloe Pustina
Pustina has achieved a 3.94 cumulative grade point average and was named to the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll the last three years. She was a 2019 All-WIAC Honorable Mention Team member, and started 25 games for the team this season. She was a captain of the 2019 team.

WIAC All Conference: Jack Flynn / Adam Fravert / Brett Wittchow.
Flynn is averaging 15.1 points and a team-leading 8.0 rebounds per game. He who paces the Titans with a .586 field goal percentage and nine double-doubles, leads the conference with 106 offensive rebounds while ranking second in the league in field goal percentage and blocks (35), third in rebounds per game, and sixth in scoring.

Fravart, who also was a conference all-defense selection, averaged 14.6 points per game this season for the Titans while adding 201 defensive boards and 55 blocks on the season.

Wittchow averaged 13.9 points per game this season for the Titans, including a league best 40% from the 3-point line.

WIAC All-Conference Defensive Team: Olivia Campbell
Campbell proved a key element of the Titan’s stingy defense, nabbing 50 steals on the year while collecting 93 defensive boards. The junior will likely be a preseason all-conference selection heading into her senior season next year.

The Men’s team plays in the NCAA DIII semifinals on Friday against Wheaton College. Tipoff is at 7pm.

Stats and images courtesy of UW Oshkosh Athletics.  

Story was updated 3.15 to include Coach Brad Fischer’s selection as NCAA Division III Central Region Coach of the Year by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA)


About Author

Justin R. Mitchell

Justin is the founding editor of the Oshkosh Independent.

Leave A Reply