New Music: Caley Conway releases ‘Surrounded Middle’ EP


Conway will be joining Sly Joe & the Smooth Ops and Pat Keen for a solo set at Gibson Music in Appleton on May 11.

Milwaukee music artist Caley Conway released the six song EP Surrounded Middle last month and will be touring the midwest in May including a stop in Appleton at Gibson Music on Saturday, May 11, 2019.

Conway, who is an accomplished bass player with WI bands Field Report and Cairns, shines on lead vocals and guitar on Surrounded Middle. Her singing is splendidly polished, and pairs effortlessly with melodic guitar lines that create a unique sound offering bits of psychedelic folk, Brazilian intrigue and lofi indie rock.

“I saw Stevie Wonder and the Flaming Lips in the same night,” Conway shared. “I think this was my brain’s synthesis of those two experiences.”

Joining Conway on Surrounded Middle is John Larkin on bass and Luke Rivard on drums and percussion. The EP was recorded & mixed at the Chair Co. by Lawton Hall in 2018 and mastered by Michael Noyce.

Give a listen below to track #3 “As Long As It’s a Secret” from the EP. According to Conway, the song centers on themes of hesitance, co-dependance, and guardedness.

May midwest show dates:
– 5/9: (MKE) 414 Live on 88.9 Radio Milwaukee
– 5/10: (Eau Claire) at Odd Humyns w/ Pat Keen
– 5/11: (Appleton) at Gibson Music Hall w/ Sly Joe & the Smooth Ops w/ Pat Keen
– 5/12 (MKE) at the Jazz Estate w/ Nickel & Rose, Pat Keen
– 5/13 (Stevens Pt.) at Emy J’s w/ Pat Keen
– 5/14 (MPLS) at Tatterwood Gallery w/ Pat Keen, Bella Yaga
– 5/18 (Ft. Atkinson) at Cafe Carpe w/ Peter Mulvey, Chris Porterfield 
– 5/19 (CHI) at Good Wolf House w/ Jessica Risker
– 5/31 (MKE) Femfest at Cactus Club

Check out Caley Conway at

banner image by Taylor Donskey


About Author

Justin R. Mitchell

Justin is the founding editor of the Oshkosh Independent.

Leave A Reply