Leadership shifts at the local government level


Deputy Mayor Palmeri

This past week, local governmental bodies participated in the routine re-organization of leadership positions.  The Oshkosh Common Council voted Lori Palmeri as the new Deputy Mayor, replacing councilor Steve Herman.  Palmeri was nominated by fellow councilor Allison-Aasby. The city of Oshkosh Mayor position was not up for election, with Mayor Cummings continuing another year at the helm.

The Winnebago County Board of Supervisors voted in a new board chair, ending a 12-year hold of leadership by former chair David Albrecht.  The board voted in Shiloh Ramos by, who represents district 5 in Neenah and who was first elected in 2006.  Ramos, who won the close vote 20-16, was nominated by supervisor Michael Norton.

The county board chair holds the powerful authority to appoint supervisors when vacancies occur.  It is not uncommon for more than 25% of the sitting board to have first been appointed to the board by the board chair.  In addition, the chair is responsible for committee appointments.

Albrecht was again nominated for chair, with an impassioned pitch by supervisor Bill Wingren.

Supervisor Thomas Egan of Omro was elected Vice Chairman of the county board.

Both bodies are nonpartisan.

(Featured image of County Board Chair Ramos)


About Author

Justin R. Mitchell

Justin is the founding editor of the Oshkosh Independent.

Leave A Reply